Print Options

(1) There shall be a Speaker of Parliament who shall be elected by the members of Parliament from among persons who are members of Parliament or who are qualified to be elected as members of Parliament.

(2) The Speaker shall vacate his office—

(a) if he becomes a Minister of State or a Deputy Minister, or

(b) if he resigns from office by writing signed by him and addressed to the Clerk to Parliament; or

(c) if any circumstances arise that, if he were not Speaker, would disqualify him for election as a member of Parliament; or

(d) if he is removed from office by a resolution of Parliament supported by the votes of not less than three-quarters of all the members of Parliament.

(3) No business shall be transacted in Parliament other than an election to the office of Speaker, at any time when the office of Speaker is vacant.

(4) A person elected to the office of Speaker shall, before entering upon the duties of his office, take and subscribe before Parliament the oath of allegiance and the Speaker's oath set out in the Second Schedule to this Constitution.

(5) The Speaker shall receive such salary and allowances, and on retirement, such retiring awards as may be determined in accordance with article 71 of this Constitution.

(6) The salary and allowances payable to the Speaker and any retiring awards payable to him on retirement shall be charged on the Consolidated Fund.

(7) The salary and other allowances payable to the Speaker shall not be varied to his disadvantage during his tenure of office.