Print Options

(1) The High Court shall consist of

(a) the Chief Justice;

(b) not less than twenty Justices of the High Court; and

(c) such other Justices of the Superior Court of Judicature as the Chief Justice may, by writing signed by him, request to sit as High Court Justices for any period.

(2) The High Court shall be constituted—

(a) by a single Justice of the Court; or

(b) by a single Justice of the Court and jury; or

(c) by a single Justice of the Court with assessors; or

(d) by three Justices of the Court for the trial of the offence of high treason or treason as required by article 19 of this Constitution.

(3) There shall be in the High Court such divisions consisting of such number of Justices respectively as the Chief Justice may determine.

(4) A person shall not be qualified for appointment as a Justice of the High Court unless he is a person of high moral character and proven integrity and is of at least ten years' standing as a lawyer.