Print Options

(1) There shall be a National Security Council which shall consist of—

(a) the President;

(b) the Vice-President;

(c) the Ministers for the time being holding the portfolios of foreign affairs, defence, interior, and finance and such other Ministers as the President may determine;

(d) the Chief of Defence Staff and two other members of the Armed Forces;

(e) the Inspector-General of Police and two other members of the Police Service, one of whom shall be the Commissioner of Police responsible for Criminal Investigations Department;

(f) the Director-General of the Prisons Service;

(g) the Director of External Intelligence;

(h) the Director of Internal Intelligence;

(i) the Director of Military Intelligence;

(j) the Commissioner of Customs, Excise and Preventive Service; and

(k) three persons appointed by the President.

(2) The President shall preside at meetings of the National Security Council and in his absence the Vice-President shall preside.

(3) The President may, acting in consultation with the National Security Council, invite such persons as he considers necessary for any deliberations of the Council.

(4) A person invited to participate in the deliberations of the Council under clause (3) of this article shall not vote on any matter for decision before the Council.

(5) The National Security Council shall regulate the procedure at its meetings.

(6) The Secretary to the Cabinet shall be the Secretary to the National Security Council.